top of page
  • Writer's pictureAndrew Thornhill

ISO 45001 Migration Deadline Announced

Many organisations are seeking clarity around requirements to transition to ISO 45001 2018.

We are Currently Certified to OHSAS 18001

OHSAS 18001 was withdrawn when ISO 45001:2018 was released. The International Accreditation Forum originally stated a transition date of 12 March 2021 for OHSAS 18001 Certificate holders. This has now been extended by 6 months due to Covid-19 disruptions (refer Key Deadlines below).

We are Currently Certified to AS/NZS 4801

Standards Australia and Standards New Zealand have adopted ISO4 5001:2018 and re-issued it as AS/NZS 45001:2018. AS/NZS 4801:2001 has been listed as superseded by both Standards organisations.

Key Deadlines

New Certifications: we understand that JAS-ANZ has advised Australian Certification bodies that they can no longer issue Certification to AS/NZS 4801 or OHSAS 18001 (JAS-ANZ is the Joint Accreditation System of Australia and New Zealand).

Certified Organisations: if you are currently Certified to either AS/NZS 4801 or OHSAS 18001, you must transition to ISO 45001:2018 by the 12th of September 2021. After that date Certification to the previous Standards will not be valid.

What You Need to Do

We have published a range of Blogs and Resources to assist your transition.

Need Help?

We have supported many organisations to ISO 45001 Certification and provide on-going support.

Feel free to contact us (

34 views0 comments


bottom of page